Burke, Bernardine and Vincent to fill final three seats in the senate

Three former Ministers of the National Democratic Congress, Tillman Thomas led administration, are to be named as the senators to fill the three opposition seats in the Upper House of Parliament.

Reports are that former Finance Minister Nazim Burke, former Education Minister Franka Bernardine, and Former Tourism Minister Dr George Vincent. are set to receive their instruments of appointment from Governor-General Sir Carlyle Glean in time for the ceremonial opening.

The New National Party (NNP) won all seats in the House of Representatives, resulting in no formal Parliamentary Opposition following the general elections. However, the Constitution of Grenada provides for the Leader of the Opposition to name three persons to the Senate, but in the absence of a formal Opposition, the Governor-General is tasked with naming three persons to fill the vacant seats.

It is not clear when they will receive the appointment letter,s but the Ceremonial Opening of the Ninth Parliament is scheduled to take place on Wednesday 27 March 2013, at the Grenada Trade Centre — the temporary home of parliament since the passage of Hurricane Ivan.

The NDC received just over 20,000 votes in the 19 February general elections.


Photo: His Excellency, Sir Carlyle Glean, GCMG — Governor-General of Grenada

Article Footer 468x60

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts