Commonwealth Scholarships in South Africa

The Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development announces a number of new PhD & Master’s Commonwealth Scholarships, available in South Africa, which commence in January 2016. 

Applicants for the PhD awards, which was put in place with the support of the David & Elaine Potter Foundation, must be citizens of an African Commonwealth country, other than South Africa. The award is for a total of three years.

The Master’s Degree awards, which are up to two years in duration, are open to citizens of any Commonwealth country, other than South Africa, and the awards are tenable at any Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) member university, in South Africa.

The value of the scholarships includes:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Monthly/quarterly stipend (living allowance) set at local rates
  • Arrival allowance (usually) US$500, to contribute to additional costs incurred in moving to the host country
  • One economy class return airfare between the recipient’s home and host country

Candidates must apply directly and should be selected by mid-October. The Association of Commonwealth Universities will then advise the respective agencies, in the applicant’s home countries, of the list of successful candidates.

To apply, candidates will need to go to the website, which is listed beneath, to get the application form and should do the following:

  1. Complete the relevant scholarship form:
  1. Send the completed form to

The deadline for applications is September 7, 2015.

More information and the application forms can be found on the ACU website at:

Article Footer 468x60

Facebook Comments

Related Posts