UK Commonwealth Scholarships 2016

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC) is inviting nominations from Grenada for scholarships tenable in the United Kingdom from the start of the UK academic year in October 2016.

Applicants should:

  • Be a citizen of Grenada
  • It is important that candidates apply for the category most suited to their particular needs and past qualifications
  • PhD candidates should be for 3 years PhD study, registered at a UK institution only
  • Candidates interested in Split-site study can apply directly to the CSC for Commonwealth Split-site scholarships and should visit for more information
  • Candidates must hold a first degree of at least Upper Second Class Honours
  • Candidates must be able to take up their awards in October 2016
  • Master’s candidates who have undertaken any of their University education outside their home country, will be asked to state how it was funded and how education differed from that in their home country
  • All PhD candidates must provide a supporting statement from named supervisor from at least one of the UK universities to which they are applying. If a supporting statement is not provided for their first choice university, the CSC reserves the right to place the candidate at another institution for which they have a supporting statement.
  • Awards are tenable at any approved UK university or higher education institution with which the CSC has part-fund agreement. A list of these intuitions can be found at:
  • Awards may be offered to complete PhD study already underway in the UK only at the discretion of the host University
  • Candidates are expected to state at least one and preferably three institutions of study on their application form. The final decision on host institution will be made by the CSC. Candidates must submit independent applications directly to their preferred institutions in advance of their scholarship application
  • Candidates should also note DFID’s general priority areas, which include:
    1. Education
    2. Health
    3. Economic Growth and the Private Sector
    4. Governance and Conflict
    5. Climate and Environment
    6. Water and Sanitation
    7. Food and Nutrition
    8. Humanitarian Disasters and Emergencies

3 copies of all application materials listed below:

  • Commonwealth scholarship application forms to be obtained from the Scholarship Desk. As well as to complete and submit the EAS form online then print and submit three copies to the Scholarship Desk. You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Click for full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guidelines.
  • References to be completed online by your chosen referees which would be emailed to them electronically by the CSC after completion of the EAS by interested applicants
  • Passport page with photograph and proof of citizenship and date of birth
  • Certified copies of Transcripts
  • Certified copies of Bachelor’s Degree and or Masters Degrees
  • Acceptance letter from a University in the United Kingdom

Value of Award

  • Full tuition fees
  • Monthly/quarterly stipend (living allowance)
  • Arrival allowance
  • Return Airfare

Interested applicants are strongly advised to visit the links below for additionally information relevant to the application process and value of award directly from the CSCUK.

All applicants are kindly asked to contact the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development Division / Scholarship Desk, Botanical Gardens, Tanteen, St George’s telephone number 1-473-440-2737 and email at Deadline to apply is Wednesday, 30 September, 2015.

Article Footer 468x60

Facebook Comments

Related Posts